Skip To Main Content

Governing Body

The Governance of Thurlow Educational Trust

Thurlow Educational Trust is an incorporated charity with 3 Directors. Since merging with St Dunstan’s Educational Foundation, all 3 Directors sit as part of St Dunstan’s Trustee Ltd, the overarching sole corporate trustee and entity to which the Directors of TET delegate and share their obligations as Governors. St Dunstan’s Trustee Ltd. has, in total, 17 Directors, who serve as Governors to both Thurlow Educational Trust Ltd and St Dunstan’s Educational Foundation.

Visit St Dunstan's College

The Directors have a statutory role to ensure the charities fulfil their charitable objects. For Thurlow Educational Trust, this is 'to promote and provide for the advancement of education' as set out in its Memorandum in 1974 (as amended on 21 May 1998). In ensuring the fulfilment of this object, the Directors agree the vision for the charity and set strategic objectives and targets for the St Dunstan’s Executive Team (DET) to fulfil.

The DET, Chaired by the Head of St Dunstan’s College, oversees the implementation of the agreed strategic priorities for all schools within the St Dunstan’s group. The Head of Rosemead is an integral member of this Executive and assumes overall operational responsibility for the running of Rosemead. The professional services provision at Rosemead is overseen by the relevant leads within the Executive.

Directors are jointly and severally responsible for the custodianship of the charities and in so doing ensure compliance, approve policies, monitor and review key performance indicators for the Executive. The Governing Body delegates more detailed scrutiny to a number of sub-committees, including Education, Finance and Resources, and Leadership and Governance.

There are 17 Directors in total. Two are ex officio: The Alderman of the Ward of Tower in the City of London and the incumbent priest of All Hallows by the Tower. Four of the Governors are also Directors of Thurlow Educational Trust Ltd. The remaining 11 are selected on the basis of their skills and experience following the regular review of the constitution of the Board and the needs of the charities.

Governors are ordinarily drawn from the alumni and parent bodies of the organisations they serve. The Governors are ever-mindful of their commitment to equality, diversity and inclusion, and their statement pertaining to this can be found here.

Our Governing Body

Mr Paul Durgan BA, FCA, Chair -

Mr Jonathan Ronan - Safeguarding Link Governor -


Dr Yvonne Burne JP, OBE

Dr Andrew Cairns  MRSC MIMMM

Revd Katherine Hedderly – Ex-officio governor, incumbent priest of All Hallows by the Tower

Mr Ed Enzor (Rosemead)

Mr Nicholas Lyons MA – Ex-officio governor, Alderman of Tower Ward

Mrs Rosalind Meredith

Mr David Probert BA Hons, MBA

Mr Shams Rahman BA, LLB, LLM

Mr Tom Shave (Rosemead)

Mr Navdeep Sheera MA, MBA

Prof. Mieke Van Hemelrijck (Rosemead)